Who we are
The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) is a dynamic government agency mandated by law to assist the President in the exercise of general supervision over local governments (Local Government Code of 1991).

The Department was created under Republic Act No. 6975, otherwise known as the DILG Act of 1990, in order to promote peace and order, ensure public safety and further strengthen local government capability aimed towards the effective delivery of basic services to the citizenry. The operating offices and bureaus responsible for the peace and order and public safety functions of the Department are the National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM), Philippine National Police (PNP), Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP), Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) and the Philippine Public Safety College (PPSC). The Department is headed by the Secretary who is also the ex-officio chairman of the NAPOLCOM.

DILG has established regional offices throughout the country to implement the policies and programs of the Department. It continues to work closely with local government units (LGUs), national government agencies (NGAs), and civil society, including non-government organizations (NGOs) and people's organizations (POs).

Department of the Interior and Local Government VII
Download RA 6975